Almost every toy made today features some kind of technology. Stuffed animals, books, cars…you name it, they’ve added sound and a screen to it. And although one of my favorite toys from back in the day had a screen, many of my favorites were simple. They required your own imagination to make the toys come to life.

Like this Fisher Price garage.

I love those retro colors.

Popples.

I had the cute white one on the left.

Or who could forget Rainbow Brite?

Yep, That's me with my Rainbow Brite passed out on my dad's lap.

Yep, That’s me with my Rainbow Brite passed out on my dad’s lap. Check out the homemade Care Bear on the couch by my mom.

Or there were toys that forced you to get outside and play. Like the Big Wheel.

This is the closest I could find to the one I had, but my wheel wa bigger. At least in my memory.

Or these roller skates.

I had this exact pair and wore them out properly.

Or climbing trees.

This tree wasn't in our back yard, but I wish it was. That's me in all my awkward pre-teen glory on the far right. Check out my brother's awesome hammer pants on the far left.

This tree wasn’t in our back yard, but I wish it was. That’s me in all my awkward pre-teen glory on the far right. Check out my brother’s awesome MC Hammer pants on the far left. Our younger sister is in the middle of us all, flanked on each side by our cousins.

But my favorite toy of them all is one I still have today. If you have coulrophobia–that is, the fear of clowns–you may want to stop scrolling now. In fact, I totally understand. People dressed as clowns freak me out, but not my Clownie.

See? He’s sweet. Harmless.

What were your favorite childhood toys?

This post was inspired by Mama Kat‘s Writing Prompt 4.) A childhood toy you once loved.

 

Mama’s Losin’ It

About Kristen Reichert

Providing creative, innovative web and print content and promoting businesses using social media marketing tools.

3 responses »

  1. Donna says:

    My favorite childhood toy was definitely barbies!

  2. mamaslosinit says:

    I owned every one of those items with the exception of that horrid clown at the end. wth was that!?!

Leave a Reply

